Nationally, sealing an asphalt driveway typically costs $355 to $600 for a 20 by 20 foot drive, with a national average of $468, and about $0.88 to $2.10 per square foot all in (Fixr, page dated January 31, 2025). Parking lots run about $0.15 to $0.30 per square foot (HomeAdvisor, June 20, 2026). These are national figures, not Knoxville quotes; the one local price guide, from 2022, is in the cost section with its date. After the final coat, one manufacturer says to keep vehicles off for 24 hours, and a parking lot contractor's guide says at least 24 hours, longer in cool or shaded conditions. Knoxville Asphalt Paving Pros is a referral service. We pass your request to an independent local sealcoating company. To start, send the quote form on this page or call. Ask the company to inspect the pavement and put the quote in writing.
Can I seal in Knoxville in November? Knoxville's sealing season
The National Weather Service gives these median dates for Knoxville's airport station (1991 to 2020 normals): last freeze April 1, last frost April 14, first frost October 24, first freeze November 2. Over its period of record the station also averages 68 days a year at or below 32 F. Sealers need 45 to 50 F and rising (Fixr, SealMaster; see the cure table below), so the stretch from about April to late October has the fewest freezing mornings, and November is at the edge. That is our reading of the dates, not a published sealing season, and one cold night can still stop a job. At the other end, Hunker's 90 F ceiling matters in a Knoxville summer, where the station's record high is 105 F (July 1, 2012). Check the forecast for the day and the night after, and ask the company for its own minimum temperature.
What sealcoating is and what it protects against
Sealcoating is a light coat put on sound asphalt. The Asphalt Institute's engineering FAQ describes it for driveways as a light application of slow-setting emulsion diluted with water, and it sets the timing by the pavement's condition, not by the calendar. Claims about what a sealer protects against, such as sun, water or oil, come from the product maker, so ask for the data sheet that backs each one.
Signs a driveway needs sealing: dry or raveling texture, small cracks
The Asphalt Institute says to seal as soon as a dry or brittle surface, small cracks or raveling show. SealMaster, a sealer maker, says to treat gas, oil and grease spots first. Neither names a gray or faded color as a trigger, so if a company says one, ask what it sees and why that means sealing now.
So, is sealcoating necessary? Not on a fixed date, and not for every driveway. It is worth considering when the pavement is structurally sound and the surface is wearing:
- A dry or brittle surface.
- Raveling. The surface starts to break up.
- Small cracks. Fill them before any coating goes on (see the prep section).
- Oil and fuel stains. Treat them first.
Sealing covers the surface. HomeAdvisor's rule of thumb for resurfacing (under 15 years old, under 30 percent damaged) shows where sealing stops being the right job. Ask the sealcoating contractor or driveway sealing company whether your driveway is a sealing job at all.
Driveway sealcoating vs parking lot sealcoating
Parking lot and driveway sealing are priced differently, and a lot job has questions a driveway does not: how the lot stays open, how long before cars return and whether lines are in the quote. HomeAdvisor's parking lot guide (June 20, 2026) puts commercial sealcoating at $0.15 to $0.30 per square foot. Fixr's all-in range for a home driveway, $0.88 to $2.10, is higher. The guides cover different sites and scopes, so do not mix their numbers. The lot section below covers reopening, striping and cost.
Sealer types: coal tar emulsion, asphalt emulsion, acrylic (water-based), oil-based and additives such as sand for grip
When you ask for a free sealcoating estimate, the quote should name the sealer type and ask for its data sheet. SealMaster says clean silica sand is mixed into sealer for slip resistance, so ask whether additives such as sand for grip are in the price. The table shows Fixr's national material-only prices per square foot (January 31, 2025). It leaves out labor and prep.
| Sealer type | Material only, per sq ft (Fixr, national) | Worth knowing |
|---|---|---|
| Coal tar emulsion | $0.08 to $0.10 | Lowest material cost. The USGS and the Asphalt Institute single it out (next section). |
| Asphalt-based (asphalt emulsion) | $0.15 to $0.20 | The Asphalt Institute describes a diluted slow-setting asphalt emulsion for driveways. |
| Oil-based | $0.15 to $0.20 | Priced the same as asphalt-based in the Fixr guide. |
| Acrylic (water-based) | $0.25 to $0.35 | Costs more than coal tar or asphalt-based products. |
| Fill and seal | $0.35 to $0.50 | Highest material price in the table. |
Coal tar emulsion sealcoating
Coal tar is the cheapest sealer by material cost. See the next section before you accept it on a quote.
Asphalt emulsion sealcoating
The Asphalt Institute's FAQ describes asphalt emulsion sealcoating as slow-setting emulsion diluted with water, about one part to one, at roughly 0.1 to 0.15 gallons per square yard. It warns against too much, because excess sealer is picked up on shoes and tires. A thick coat is not a better coat.
Acrylic sealcoating and acrylic water-based sealcoating
Acrylic is the second most costly material in the Fixr table, at $0.25 to $0.35 per square foot. Ask who makes it and what its data sheet says about temperature and cure time.
Fill and seal and crack fill and seal
Fill and seal is $0.35 to $0.50 per square foot for material (Fixr). Crack fill and seal combines filling and coating, so ask for them as separate lines on the quote.
Specialty sealers for lots and hot climates
For lots, SealMaster says a third coat may go on entrances, exits and drive lanes. For heat, Hunker says not to seal above 90 F, and Knoxville's record high is 105 F. Fast-dry sealers, slurry seal and micro seal are other products you may be offered. Ask for the data sheet and the written drying time before you accept one.
What is the best sealcoating?
There is no best sealcoating for every site, and no company or sealer can be named first on this page. High quality sealing starts with sound pavement and a quote that lists the prep, so use the quote checklist below.
Coal tar sealer: health and environmental restrictions in some places, and local rules to check
The U.S. Geological Survey's Fact Sheet 2016-3017 (first posted April 20, 2016) reports that coal-tar-based sealcoat is a major source of contamination by chemicals called PAHs in urban and suburban areas. It says dust and soil ingestion give nearby residents an elevated potential cancer risk, particularly young children, and that runoff from coal-tar sealed pavement was acutely toxic to fathead minnows and water fleas, even in runoff collected more than three months after application. The Asphalt Institute's FAQ says coal-tar compounds are not recommended for driveway sealing.
No Tennessee or Knoxville rule on coal tar sealers turned up in the sources; ask the City of Knoxville or Knox County whether one applies. A company that names the product is easier to compare than one that says "professional-grade sealer".
Prep before sealing: cleaning and blowing off debris, oil-spot treatment, weed removal, crack filling and patching first, primers
SealMaster's FAQ says to fill cracks and treat gas, oil and grease spots first. Ask the company to show its prep on the quote:
- Clean and blow off. How will the surface be cleaned before the sealer goes on?
- Remove weeds. Fixr lists weed control by the company at about $0.25 extra per square foot, so ask whether it is included.
- Treat oil spots. Is treating gas, oil and grease spots included?
- Fill cracks. This is the crack fill, primer and surface pretreatment step. For deeper damage, see asphalt repair and crack filling.
- Patch holes and low spots. Is patching a separate, priced line?
- Protect edges. How will garage doors, aprons, walkways and landscaping edges be protected?
Prep is labor (Fixr puts labor at $0.60 to $1.75 per square foot). If a quote is far below the others, ask which prep steps it leaves out.
How sealer is applied: coats, tools and avoiding too much
SealMaster says sealer goes on by brush, squeegee or spray. It recommends two coats, with an optional third on entrances, exits and drive lanes. Ask how many coats the company plans, whether sand is added and how it avoids puddles in low spots.
Cure time and when you can walk and drive on it: weather and temperature limits, scheduling around rain
Three sources give three sets of weather limits, and none is a Tennessee rule.
| Question | SealMaster (manufacturer FAQ) | Fixr (cost guide) | Hunker (home site) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Temperature | 50 F and rising for 24 hours | Ground at least 45 F | Above 50 F and not above 90 F, for good adhesion |
| Rain | None expected within 24 hours | None expected for at least 3 days | Not stated in the part used |
| Before cars drive on it | Keep vehicles off 24 hours after the final coat | Not stated in the part used | Not stated in the part used |
That answers "how long does sealcoating take to cure" only partly. The 24 hours is a manufacturer's minimum for keeping vehicles off, and Asphalt Kingdom's blog gives the same 24 hours as a minimum under good drying conditions, with 24 to 48 hours safer and 48 to 72 hours in cool, humid or shaded conditions. The sealer's own data sheet wins, so ask the company to write the no-driving time and the date you may park again on the quote.
Scheduling around rain
Because the rain limits run from 24 hours to three days, a job can slip after a storm. Knoxville's airport station records about 51.93 inches of rain a year (NWS, 1991 to 2020 normals), so wet spells are normal. Ask what the company does if rain arrives mid-job or the night after, and whether rescheduling costs extra. The season dates are near the top of this page.
When to seal new asphalt: after it cures
New asphalt is sealed after it cures, and the guides differ on how long that takes. Fixr says wait at least six months; SealMaster, a sealer maker, says 30 to 60 days. The Asphalt Institute points to wear, not color: a dry or brittle surface, small cracks or raveling.
| Source | What it says | Type of source |
|---|---|---|
| SealMaster | New asphalt should cure a minimum of 30 to 60 days | Sealer manufacturer |
| Hunker | Asphalt needs at least 90 days to cure; wait a minimum of six months, up to a year | Home-improvement site |
| Fixr | Wait at least six months | Consumer cost guide |
| Asphalt Institute | A new, well-built, low-traffic driveway should not need sealing for roughly 2 to 5 years; seal when a dry or brittle surface, small cracks or raveling appear | Asphalt trade body |
A practical rule: ask the paving company that laid the driveway how long its mix needs, ask the sealing company to follow the sealer's data sheet, and then seal when wear shows, not because a color changed. Sources range from 30 to 60 days (SealMaster) to at least six months (Fixr, Hunker); follow the sealer's data sheet. The asphalt driveway paving page covers the paving side.
How often to reseal: why the interval depends on sun, traffic and the sealer
No single interval is right for every drive. The sources tie it to wear and give different ranges:
| Source | Interval | For what |
|---|---|---|
| Fixr, paving cost guide | Every 1 to 3 years | Asphalt driveway |
| Fixr, sealing cost guide | About every 5 to 10 years on average; cheaper sealants may need replacing every 3 years | Asphalt driveway |
| Hunker | Every 3 to 5 years | Asphalt driveway |
| Asphalt Kingdom | A realistic range of every 2 to 4 years | Parking lot (Asphalt Kingdom's blog) |
| Asphalt Institute | No fixed interval; seal when wear signs show | Driveway |
Why the interval depends on sun, traffic and the sealer: it turns on how much sun the drive gets, how much traffic it carries, how good the sealer and its application were, and the condition of the asphalt underneath. Do not reseal on a calendar. Look at the pavement each spring and seal when wear signs show, as the Asphalt Institute says. For context, a whole asphalt driveway is quoted at 12 to 25 years (Fixr) or 20 to 30 years when properly installed (Hunker), so sealing is a repeat job over that life.
Sealcoating cost: price per driveway and per square foot
The national figures below come from Fixr (January 31, 2025) unless stated. They are not Knoxville prices.
| Item | National figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Cost to seal a driveway, 20 by 20 ft, typical range (average $468) | $355 to $600 | Fixr, January 31, 2025 |
| Full span, low to high | $159 to $826 | Fixr, January 31, 2025 |
| Sealcoating price per square foot, all in (about $1.05 for mid-grade sealer) | $0.88 to $2.10 | Fixr, January 31, 2025 |
| Labor, per square foot | $0.60 to $1.75 | Fixr, January 31, 2025 |
| Weed control by the company, extra per square foot | About $0.25 | Fixr, January 31, 2025 |
| Driveway sealing cost, total | $110 to $1,500 | HomeAdvisor repair guide, June 20, 2026 |
| Sealcoating a parking lot, per square foot | $0.15 to $0.30 | HomeAdvisor parking lot guide, June 20, 2026 |
What the arithmetic looks like
A 20 by 20 foot driveway is 400 square feet. Multiplying Fixr's all-in range by 400 gives $352 to $840; Fixr's own typical range for that size is the narrower $355 to $600. For the pieces, 400 square feet of material comes to about $32 to $40 for coal tar, $60 to $80 for asphalt-based or oil-based, $100 to $140 for acrylic and $140 to $200 for fill and seal. Labor at $0.60 to $1.75 per square foot comes to about $240 to $700, so labor and prep, not sealer, make up most of the price. A 600 square foot two-car driveway comes to about $528 to $1,260 all in. These are calculations from published rates and carry no promise for a real quote.
What moves the price
- Area. Measure your drive first. Every other number scales from it.
- Sealer type. Material runs from $0.08 to $0.50 per square foot, a spread of more than five times.
- Prep. Heavy cleaning, oil-spot treatment, weeds and crack filling add labor.
- Number of coats and additives. A third coat or added sand adds material and time.
- Minimum or mobilization fee. Some companies add a flat fee on small jobs (see the local guide below).
- Access and site. Ask whether site access changes the price.
An old Knoxville guide, shown with its date
HomeBlue's Knoxville driveway sealing cost guide, dated May 24, 2022, lists $0.30 to $0.40 per square foot, $100 to $160 for a 12 by 30 foot drive, $190 to $320 for 24 by 30 and $390 to $650 for 24 by 60. It says it is built from feedback provided by sealcoating companies, and that some contractors add $75 to $100 for mobilization on small drives. The guide is over four years old and sits below Fixr's 2025 all-in range, so read it as a rough local signal, not a current price. If a quote lands far above or below these ranges, ask what is and is not included.
Sealing vs repaving: cost difference and when sealing is no longer enough
Sealing is the low-cost end of pavement care, if the pavement is still sound. HomeAdvisor's guides put other jobs far above it: a 400 square foot driveway runs $2,800 to $6,000 new (HomeAdvisor, June 17, 2026). Choose the job that matches the damage:
| Job | Question to ask the company | National price (HomeAdvisor, June 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Sealcoating | Is the surface dry or brittle with small cracks, and is the base solid? | Sealing total $110 to $1,500 |
| Repair | Should cracks and a few potholes be repaired before sealing? | Cracks about $1 to $3 per linear foot; larger damaged areas about $2 to $5 per sq ft |
| Resurfacing | Is the surface under 15 years old and under 30 percent damaged (HomeAdvisor's rule of thumb)? | About $3 to $10 per sq ft |
| Replacement | Do a failed base, sunken areas or widespread cracking call for replacement? | About $8 to $18 per sq ft (HomeAdvisor resurface guide, June 17, 2026) |
The under-15-years and under-30-percent figures are HomeAdvisor's rule of thumb for resurfacing, not for sealing. To compare the cost of sealcoating and repaving, ask for two quotes on the same visit. The asphalt driveway paving page lists replacement prices in full.
Parking lot sealcoating: seal and stripe service, reopening and business hours
For a business, church, apartment community or HOA lot, HomeAdvisor puts commercial sealcoating at $0.15 to $0.30 per square foot (June 20, 2026). A lot job raises questions a driveway does not: how the lot stays open, how long before cars return, and whether lines are in the quote. The facts below come from Asphalt Kingdom's blog, so treat them as a contractor's advice, not a code.
How long before cars return
Plan to keep traffic off a freshly sealcoated lot for at least 24 hours under good drying conditions. Asphalt Kingdom calls 24 to 48 hours safer and says to allow 48 to 72 hours when it is cool, humid or shaded. Use the longer time for shaded corners and entrances, and get the date and hour for reopening in writing.
Sealcoating and striping order for lots; working around business hours
The order is seal first, then stripe, and working around business hours means asking for phasing or night work (see the checklist below). The same guide says to restripe once the final sealcoat has cured at least 24 hours and the surface is clean and dry. That makes seal and stripe one sequence, so ask whether lines are in the quote and who schedules the second visit. The parking lot striping page covers lines, materials and timing. On how often to restripe, We Love Paving, a California contractor, says no code there sets an interval; its triggers are a new sealcoat or overlay, crack sealing across stalls, faded lines and a changed layout. Tennessee is not covered, so ask the company what it recommends.
How often to reseal a lot
Asphalt Kingdom gives a realistic range of every 2 to 4 years for a lot. That sits inside the wider driveway ranges in the reseal table above, and traffic, shade and sealer decide where a lot falls in it. For lots, ask the company what it recommends and why.
What to settle before the job
- Phasing. Can the lot be done in sections so the business stays open? Ask which sections close, on which days, and for how long, and plan for the longer 24 to 72 hour times above.
- Night and weekend work. Can the company work outside business hours, and does that change the price?
- Barricades and notices. Who closes entrances, posts notices and tells tenants?
- Accessible spaces. How will the company restore accessible stalls and access aisles?
- Rain and the next-night forecast. What is the plan if weather moves the date?
Lot cost example
At $0.15 to $0.30 per square foot (HomeAdvisor, June 20, 2026), a lot of 10,000 square feet comes to about $1,500 to $3,000 by arithmetic, before any minimum fee, crack filling, patching or striping. Ask for those lines separately.
Local conditions and rules to check in Knoxville
The National Weather Service page for Knoxville's airport station (1991 to 2020 normals) shows about 51.93 inches of rain and about 4.6 inches of snow a year. Over its period of record the station averages 68 days a year with a low at or below 32 F, and its extremes run from -24 F on January 21, 1985 to 105 F on July 1, 2012. Water reaches the pavement all year, can freeze in cracks on many mornings and heats the surface in summer. That is why crack filling comes before the coat, and why the weather limits above matter here.
- Permits. The City of Knoxville's list of fast-fact permit guides has no guide for paving or private driveways. Its one paving line says sidewalks and driveways in the public right-of-way require a building permit, and the guide does not mention sealing. If your job touches the apron or curb, ask the city's permits office first.
- Coal tar and wash water. No Tennessee or Knoxville rule on coal tar sealers or on sealer rinse water turned up in the sources. Ask the company how it handles wash water and spills.
- HOA rules. Ask whether your association limits sealer colors, work hours or driveway work.
Can I apply sealcoating myself? DIY vs hiring a professional
You can, and some homeowners do. The trade-offs:
- Prep. Cleaning, oil-spot treatment and crack filling decide whether the coat holds, and they are slow alone.
- Weather. You need the window described above: 50 F and rising and no rain for 24 hours (SealMaster), or no rain for 3 days (Fixr), and not above 90 F (Hunker).
- Label. Read it. If a product is coal tar based, the USGS findings above apply to you and your yard.
DIY saves the labor part of the price, which Fixr puts at $0.60 to $1.75 per square foot. If you hire out, ask what prep and equipment the price includes. For a lot, a long drive or cracking that needs filling, compare quotes line by line.
How to compare sealcoating quotes and choose a company
Sealcoating companies are independent local businesses, not Knoxville Asphalt Paving Pros. Ask for a written estimate after an on-site measurement; one you can take home and compare commits you to nothing.
What a sealcoating quote should list
- The area in square feet, and whether it is measured or guessed.
- The sealer type and brand, and a copy of its data sheet.
- The number of coats, and whether sand or other additives are included.
- Each prep step: cleaning, weed control, oil-spot treatment, crack filling, patching.
- Any minimum or mobilization fee.
- The no-driving time, the weather limits and the rain policy.
- Striping, if any, and whether it is in the price.
- Payment terms and any written warranty: what it covers, for how long, and what voids it.
Questions to ask every company
- Is the free quote a real on-site measurement, and is there a charge if I do not hire you?
- Which sealer will you use, and is it coal tar based?
- Should my pavement be sealed at all, or does it need repair first?
- Do you include crack filling and patching, or are those separate lines?
- Does the price cover the apron and walkway edges?
- Does a Tennessee contractor license or registration apply to my job? Ask for the number and look it up with the state.
- Can you send a current certificate of insurance? Ask for the paper.
- What will you do if it rains right after the job?
Red flags
- No answer to "Which sealer will you use?"
- A quote that gives only a total, with no sealer named.
- A large payment up front, or pressure to sign on the spot.
- A promise that sealing will make a cracked, failing driveway last for years.
Compare lines, not totals. If you need help getting started, send the quote form on this page or see the contact page.
Frequently asked questions about sealcoating in Knoxville
When should new asphalt be sealed?
Sealer maker SealMaster says new asphalt should cure 30 to 60 days; Fixr says wait at least six months. Sources range from 30 to 60 days (SealMaster) to at least six months (Fixr, Hunker); follow the sealer's data sheet, then seal when wear shows.
How often should I reseal, and how long does sealcoating last?
Driveway guides range from every 1 to 3 years to every 3 to 5 years; a lot guide says 2 to 4. The Asphalt Institute sets no fixed interval; seal when a dry or brittle surface, small cracks or raveling show.
Is sealcoating necessary for my asphalt driveway?
It is a maintenance choice, not a rule. It helps sound pavement with a dry, brittle or raveling surface. Ask whether the pavement is sound enough to seal.
How long before I can drive on a sealed driveway or lot?
At least 24 hours after the final coat, longer if cool or shaded. One lot guide says 24 to 48 hours is safer and 48 to 72 hours in cool, humid or shaded conditions. Get the date in writing.
Can I seal my driveway in Knoxville in November?
It is possible but marginal. The median first freeze is November 2 (NWS), and sealers need 45 to 50 F and rising with no rain for 24 hours to 3 days. Ask the company for its minimum temperature.
Is coal tar sealer safe?
The USGS links coal-tar sealcoat to PAH contamination, elevated cancer-risk potential for nearby residents and toxic runoff, and the Asphalt Institute does not recommend it for driveways. Ask which product is on the quote.
Can I apply sealcoating myself?
Yes, but prep and weather decide the result. SealMaster wants 50 F and rising with no rain for 24 hours, and Hunker says not above 90 F. Read the label first, because coal tar products carry the USGS health findings.
What is included in a sealcoating service?
Ask for each of these as a written line: cleaning, weed control, oil-spot treatment, crack filling, patching, the number of coats (SealMaster recommends two), edging and the no-driving time.
What is the cost difference between sealcoating and repaving?
Nationally, sealing runs $110 to $1,500 for a driveway, against $2,800 to $6,000 for a new 400 square foot driveway (HomeAdvisor, June 2026). Ask whether the pavement is sound enough to seal.
How much does sealcoating an asphalt parking lot cost?
Nationally, $0.15 to $0.30 per square foot (HomeAdvisor, June 20, 2026), before striping, crack filling or patching.
How soon can a sealed lot be striped?
Asphalt Kingdom says after the final coat has cured at least 24 hours and the surface is clean and dry. Ask whether lines are in the quote.
Can sealcoating be scheduled around business hours?
Ask whether the company can work in sections or outside business hours, and whether that changes the price. Get the closure plan and the no-driving time in writing.
How to request a sealcoating quote
Send the quote form on this page and a person gets back to you within one business day to connect you with a local sealcoating company. You pay Knoxville Asphalt Paving Pros nothing for the call or the request.
Prefer the phone? Call and leave a message. We call you back within one business day and connect you with a local sealcoating company.
Have the length and width of the drive or lot ready, photos of cracks, oil stains and standing water to show the company (the form has no photo upload), and the year it was paved. Put the size and year in the form's details box or say them on the call. Ask each company for a written quote that names the sealer.